2023 Mississippi Mr. Football award winners honored in postseason ceremony

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

High school football has officially wrapped up across the state, and now, the most outstanding players, or “Mr. Football,” from each class are being honored for their achievements on the field.

Below is a list of Mr. Football from each classification:

Class 7A — Starkville quarterback Trey Petty

For a third consecutive season, Petty led his Starkville squad to a state championship. Though the Yellowjackets fell short against Oak Grove 33-28 during Saturday’s contest, the senior signal-caller put his team on his back and kept Starkville within contention on the state’s biggest stage.

The three-star Illinois commit is a two-way quarterback who showcased his abilities both in the air and on the ground, amassing 2,000 passing yards and more than 800 rushing yards on the season with over 25 total touchdowns.

Class 6A — Picayune tight end/defensive end Jamonta Waller

The top-ranked high school prospect in Mississippi, Waller played on both sides of the ball — using his big frame to block as a tight end on offense while also utilizing his size and speed to record several sacks, roughly 20 tackles for a loss, and multiple forced fumbles.

A five-star Auburn commit, the Picayune edge rusher got to opposing quarterbacks at will and looks to continue wreaking havoc on backfields in the SEC come next season.

Class 5A — West Point running back Kahnen Daniels

Another state champion among the bunch, Daniels is a dynamic running back who fit perfectly into legendary head coach Chris Chambless’ system. The workhorse mounted over 2,000 yards and surpassed 20 touchdowns on the year to carry his team to earn the title.

The three-star is listed as a Florida commit, but Mississippi State has made a strong push to keep the local talent in the Golden Triangle. Either way, Daniels has a future on Saturdays in the most talented conference in college football.

Class 4A — Houston offensive/defensive lineman William Echoles

The big man displayed more endurance than arguably any player in the state during the 2023 season. Echoles, a nearly 300-pound lineman averaged approximately 120 snaps per game, playing on both sides of the ball.

A four-star Ole Miss commit, Echoles continues to be heavily recruited after posting nearly 30 pancake blocks and more than 60 tackles in the 2023 campaign.

Class 3A — Winona quarterback Chase Richardson

Another state champion acknowledged among seven of the best players in the state, Richardson did it all. The dual-threat signal caller was explosive with his arms and legs throughout the season.

Richardson was responsible for more than 2,000 passing yards, roughly 1,000 rushing yards, and over 30 total touchdowns in the title-earning year in the Tigers’ undefeated campaign.

Class 2A — Sebastapol quarterback Adarius McDougle

McDougle was the shining star of an offense that averaged nearly 35 points per game in 2023. The speedy quarterback used his legs to set the tone in the running game before airing it out to keep opposing defenses on their toes.

The junior eclipsed the 2,000-yard rushing mark and threw for nearly 1,000 yards, making him nearly impossible to defend throughout the season.

Class 1A — Velma Jackson running back Gavin Griffin

Representing an offense that lit up the scoreboard throughout the season, the multi-purpose back was the brightest light of his team. Griffin was responsible for around 2,000 total yards of offense and recorded double-digit scores on the ground and a few in the air.

The Camden native has expressed interest in suiting up for an SEC program next fall. The senior has entertained Alabama, Mississippi State, and Tennessee as possible destinations.

The post 2023 Mississippi Mr. Football award winners honored in postseason ceremony appeared first on SuperTalk Mississippi.