Delta State’s Shegog named Harlon Hill Trophy finalist

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

Coming off one of the biggest accolades of his career, Delta State quarterback Patrick Shegog has been named a finalist for another major piece of hardware.

On Tuesday night, Shegog became the first non-Division I player since 2008 to win the Conerly Trophy given annually to Mississippi’s top college football player. Less than 24 hours later, he was named a finalist for the Harlon Hill Trophy, which is the Division II equivalent to the Heisman.

In 12 games this season, the Batesville native accounted for 2,618 passing yards, 690 rushing yards, and a program-record 44 total touchdowns. He threw only two interceptions while leading the Statesmen to their second consecutive playoff appearance.

Shegog joins eight other players as finalists from the initial list of 38 nominees. The winner of this year’s Harlon Hill Trophy will be announced on Dec. 15 with the award ceremony being hosted by the Little Rock Touchdown Club on Jan. 12.

Super Region One Position School
Brayden Long QB Slippery Rock
Michael Herzog RB Hillsdale
Super Region Two Position School
Patrick Shegog QB Delta State
Sammy Edwards QB Valdosta State
Super Region Three Position School
Braden Gleason QB Emporia State
Gage Porter QB Southern Nazarene
Zach Zebrowski QB Central Missouri

Super Region Four Position School
John Matocha QB Colorado School of Mines
Tanner Volk DB Central Washington

Note: Two finalists from each super region are chosen annually for the Harlon Hill Trophy. However, this season, there are three finalists from Super Region Three due to a tie. 

The post Delta State’s Shegog named Harlon Hill Trophy finalist appeared first on SuperTalk Mississippi.