Fallen Wildlife Conservation Officers honored at annual memorial

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

The Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks hosted its annual Fallen Officers’ Memorial observance in honor of the 12 men who lost their lives in the line of duty.

Dedicated in the spring of 2008, the monument was funded through the Mississippi Foundation for Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks. The following officer’s names are forever inscribed:

Officer End of Watch
Frank W. “Bud” Stuart September 21, 1948
Hi Eastland Johnson October 17, 1952
Ezra Lukee Brewer April 4, 1959
Willie A. Shingler November 13, 1962
Edward W. “Ted” Sloan June 24, 1967
Glen C. Tullos October 11, 1971
Harry C. “Champ” Clark May 15, 1973
Tom M. Stuart, Sr. March 15, 1979
James S. “Jim” Wood October 21, 1984
Hilton H. “Ike” Shoemake December 26, 1990
Michael A. “Mike” Andrews November 11, 2002
John T. Collum May 9, 2014

Former Governor Phil Bryant, who was the keynote speaker said, “You should be proud of each of them. Every wife, every daughter, son, and grandchild who come here one day and look upon this marker and say “That was my father.  That was my grandfather. That was my husband, and oh what a wonderful man he was. How he loved his job.  How he would get up early in the morning, rise before the sun, and go out and make sure that we were protected and serve those that enjoyed the outdoors.”

The post Fallen Wildlife Conservation Officers honored at annual memorial appeared first on SuperTalk Mississippi.