Mask mandate in 75 counties extended through March 3rd

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

After indicating his intention to do so on Tuesday, Governor Tate Reeves has extended the executive order that places a mask mandate on 75 of the state’s 82 counties. 

The following counties remain included in the order which is now extended through March 3rd. 

Alcorn, Amite, Attala, Benton, Bolivar, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Claiborne, Clarke, Clay, Coahoma, Copiah, Covington, De Soto, Forrest, Franklin, George, Greene, Grenada, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Humphreys, Itawamba, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Kemper, Lafayette, Lamar, Lauderdale, Leake, Lee, Leflore, Lincoln, Lowndes, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Panola, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Stone, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Walthall, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Winston, Yalobusha, Yazoo

“We as Mississippians have to continue to take this virus seriously.  We are continuing to work to get shots in arms and provide vaccines to those who meet the requirements.  Please continue to social distance, wear your mask and keep your gatherings small,” Governor Reeves said. 

To date, Mississippi has administered over 270,000 doses of the COVID-19 vaccine.

The only change to the order relates to attendance inside of the state’s college baseball venues as the season approaches. Overall attendance remains capped at 25% while indoor club areas and suites can go up to 75% capacity. Outfield boxes “shall be limited to a minimum number of  four (4) ticketed persons to ensure a minimum of six feet of social distancing between persons not in the same household.”

The full order can be seen here. 

The post Mask mandate in 75 counties extended through March 3rd appeared first on SuperTalk Mississippi.