MDE announces candidates, schedule for awards ceremony

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) has scheduled its first-ever virtual ceremony for Teacher of the Year and Administrator of the Year.

The program, which was originally set to take place in the spring until the coronavirus put a wrinkle in those plans, will now be live-streamed on Thursday, July 23 at 4 p.m.

Finalists for Administrator of the Year:

  • First Congressional District – Keri Jo Sapp, principal of Bramlett Elementary, Oxford School District
  • Second Congressional District – Brenda Singleton, principal of Inverness Elementary, Sunflower County Consolidated School District
  • Third Congressional District – Debra Houghton, principal of Mannsdale Upper Elementary, Madison County School District
  • Fourth Congressional District – Kiana Pendleton, principal of Laurel Magnet School of the Arts, Laurel School District

Finalists for Teacher of the Year:

  • First Congressional District – Sarah Robinson, 9th grade Biology and Pre-AP Biology teacher at Oxford High School
  • Second Congressional District – Mina Darnell, 11th grade Honors Mathematics teacher at Clinton High School
  • Third Congressional District – April Lang, 9th-11th grade Mathematics teacher at Forest High School
  • Fourth Congressional District – Benjamin Austin, 9th-10th grade Social Studies teacher at Pearl High School


The post MDE announces candidates, schedule for awards ceremony appeared first on News Mississippi.