Mississippi Stateโ€™s Dakota Jordan wins 2024 Ferriss Trophy

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

The Ferriss Trophy is back in Starkville with Mississippi State’s Dakota Jordan being tabbed the most outstanding baseball player in the state.

Over his sophomore season at Mississippi State, the Jackson Academy alum has shined for the Bulldogs leading the team in home runs with 17 and RBIs with 61. Jordan is also one of the conference’s top bats with a .363 average.

The Ferris Trophy is named after the late Mississippi State and Boston Red Sox great Dave โ€œBooโ€ Ferriss. The current Mississippi State standout won the award over Ethan Lege (Ole Miss), Dalton McIntyre (Southern Miss), Brett Sanchez (Belhaven), and R.J. Stintson (William Carey).

Jordan’s 17 home runs are two shy of joining the single-season top-10 mark at Mississippi State. His 61 runs batted in are the sixth-most in the SEC. He has 23 multi-hit games this season, the most on the team. He is one of only five players to have a four-hit game this season for MSU. Jordan also leads the team with a .691 slugging percentage and 74 hits.

In his two years wearing the Maroon and White, Jordan has hit 27 home runs while posting a .339 batting average and driving in 101 runs, while appearing in 99 career games.

With Jordan earning the 2024 award, the Diamond Dawgs have won the most Ferriss Trophies since the award began in 2004. Jordan is the eighth Mississippi State player to earn the award and it’s the ninth time a MSU player has won the honor.

Thomas Berkery and Edward Easley went back-to-back in 2006 and 2007, Chris Stratton and Hunter Renfroe claimed the 2012 and 2013 awards and Jake Mangum and Brent Rooker won consecutive awards in 2016-17. Mangum and Tanner Allen went back-to-back in 2019 and 2021. Mangum is the only player to ever win the award twice.

Jordan and the Bulldogs return to action on Tuesday when they open play at the SEC Tournament. Fifth-seeded Mississippi State will take on 12th-seeded Ole Miss at approximately 8 p.m.

The post Mississippi State’s Dakota Jordan wins 2024 Ferriss Trophy appeared first on SuperTalk Mississippi.