Municipal Primary Runoffs coming up tomorrow

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

The Municipal Primary Runoff Elections are coming up tomorrow in several towns and cities across Mississippi.  Runoffs are held when a candidate of a certain party doesn’t reach the threshold for victory.  If you voted in either the Republican or Democratic Party Primary April 6th, you can’t crossover and vote in the other party’s runoff.  If you didn’t vote at all April 6th, you can vote in either Primary Runoff.

Some races of note:

Moss Point– State Representative Jeramey Anderson is facing Billy Knight in the Democratic runoff for Mayor.  The winner will face Republican Richard McBridge and Independent Howard Bailey in the June General Election.

Hattiesburg–Democrats Vanessa Jones and Lakeylah White are in a runoff.  The winner will take on incumbent Independent Mayor Toby Barker in June.

Poplarville–Louis Smith and Laura Holliday are in the Republican Runoff to decide who will be the next Mayor.

Ocean Springs–Either Melanie Allen or Kenny Holloway will become the next Mayor-elect.

Polls are open from 7a.m.  to 7p.m.

The post Municipal Primary Runoffs coming up tomorrow appeared first on SuperTalk Mississippi.