Ole Miss and USM receivers added to Biletnikoff Award watch list

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

Photos courtesy of Ole Miss and USM Athletics

While we anxiously await the beginning of the college football season, #WatchListSZN continues. 

Just one day after Mississippi State’s Kylin Hill and Ole Miss’ Jerrion Ealy were named to the Doak Walker Award watch list, Rebel WR Elijah Moore and Southern Miss WR Tim Jones made the cut for the Biletnikoff Award watch list.

Moore led the Rebels with 67 catches for 850 yards and 6 TDs in 2019. While he may be most remembered for his celebration following his final touchdown reception of the season, Moore is poised to lead the Rebels receiving corp once again in 2020 as a preseason All-SEC selection.

For the Golden Eagles, Jones caught 73 passes last season for a total of 902 yards with 3 touchdowns. Jones will likely become the top target for USM in 2020 now that Quez Watkins is a member of the Philadelphia Eagles. 

Each year, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football’s top receiver. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. The semifinalists, finalists, and award recipient are selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners, and other former receivers. 

The 2020 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented the Biletnikoff Award trophy by TQC Foundation Chairman George Avant, Jr., keynoter and college hall of Famer Chad Hennings, and college and pro football hall of famer Fred Biletnikoff before 550 patrons at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, March 6, 2021. 

The full list of can be seen below:

Jonathan Adams Jr. – Arkansas State
Tutu Atwell – Louisville
Jhamon Ausbon – Texas A&M
Rashod Bateman – Minnesota
David Bell – Purdue
Jadan Blue – Temple
Max Borghi – Washington State
Dyami Brown – North Carolina
Ja’Marr Chase – LSU
Nico Collins – Michigan
Elijah Cooks – Nevada
Damonte Coxie – Memphis
Frank Darby – Arizona State
Jaelon Darden – North Texas
Pat Freiermuth – Penn State
Kaylon Geiger – Troy
Kylen Granson – SMU
Warren Jackson – Colorado State
C.J. Johnson – East Carolina
Johnny Johnson III – Oregon
Tim Jones – Southern Miss
Charlie Kolar – Iowa State
Terrace Marshall Jr. – LSU
Elijah Moore – Ole Miss
Rondale Moore – Purdue
Skyy Moore – Western Michigan
Dazz Newsome – North Carolina
Tre Nixon – UCF
Chris Olave – Ohio State
Andrew Parchment – Kansas
Whop Philyor – Indiana
George Pickens – Georgia
Kalil Pimpleton – Central Michigan
Kyle Pitts – Florida
Charleston Rambo – Oklahoma
Reggie Roberson Jr. – SMU
Brad Rozner – Rice
Khalil Shakir – Boise State
Jared Smart – Hawaii
DeVonta Smith – Alabama
Ihmir Smith-Marsette – Iowa
Amon-Ra St. Brown – USC
Marquez Stevenson – Houston
Keylon Stokes – Tulsa
Sage Surratt – Wake Forest
Tamorrion Terry – Florida State
Tyquan Thornton – Baylor
Victor Tucker – Charlotte
Tyler Vaughns – USC
Jaylen Waddle – Alabama
Tre Walker – San José State
Tylan Wallace – Oklahoma State
Austin Watkins – UAB
Seth Williams – Auburn
Michael Wilson – Stanford

The post Ole Miss and USM receivers added to Biletnikoff Award watch list appeared first on News Mississippi.